Tags

, , , , , , ,

Kayak Fishing at West Lakes 1/2/16

Kayak Fishing at West Lakes 1/2/16

Whoo-hoo! I just got my ‘kayak exemption’ from a postie, magically metamorphosed into a belated and entirely unwitting Santa Claus… NOW I can finally put my kayak in the water with the motor on it… and I can finally find out if it works!

34 lb Electric motor on my Dace Pro-Angler

34 lb Electric motor on my Dace Pro-Angler

I’m really just a beginner kayak-fisherman, but have learned much already and am learning more each day… which brings me to the subject of this blog: This blog is about the sharing of kayak fishing information, tips and techniques, not to mention the exchange of fisherman’s tales and boasting about the huge fish we caught and the bigger ones that got away, between kayak fishermen from as far afield as Adelaide, South Australia, where I live, to County Durham in the northeast of England, from whence I hope to receive a few contributions from my brother, Morgyn… and maybe at least one nephew who I know is into kayaking too…

 

 

Getting the kayak ready

Getting the kayak ready

Any other kayak fishermen/women who would like to contribute to this blog are more than welcome to do so and I’ll be happy to welcome your contributions as soon as I discover the correct protocols… In the meantime, I do hope you’ll feel free to add comments and/or ask questions… (I’m sure I’ll figure out how to answer them soon!)

For my first article, this weekend, I’ll have to make do with a few photos from my latest fishing trip to West Lakes, with my mate, Peter, who was ‘official photographer’ and who took most of the photos of the ‘expedition’…

Pedro the Fisherman...

Pedro the Fisherman!

It was my most successful fishing expedition to date, to this (all too) popular fishing spot… (from a kayak anyway…) Although all the bream I caught were undersized, one or two of the five I caught were almost legal sized… and I did get one monster bite from something BIG! (Which, unfortunately, got away! ‘Struth!)

Almost legal!

Almost legal!

Next outing I have planned is for next Tuesday… and now that I have my ‘exemption’ I can put it in the water with the 34 lb Watersnake ‘Slither’ motor I’ve been just itching to try ever since I built a little transom to hold it…

One of the benefits of being single is I get to keep my kayak on a sofa in my lounge! Cool! :D

One of the benefits of being single is I get to keep my kayak on a sofa in my lounge! Cool! 😀

I’ll give a complete video and audio rundown of my very recently acquired kayak (just before Christmas) and all the ‘accessorizing’ I’ve done on it since then in my next article – which will hopefully also have a video-log of my first outing with the motor too (and with the outriggers too! Pontoons to help the kayak cope with the extra weight of the motor and battery, etc) – as well as an outline of what remains to be done to create my perfect, fully-customized fishing kayak… all in next week’s exciting edition of “Kayak Fishing South Australia and UK”.

See you all then!

Bluesman 😀